Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) Training and Certification Course

Course Overview


The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) is one of the advanced information security certifications offered by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) to validate that the candidate has hands-on knowledge of developing, managing, and implementing an information security program for an organization. This course will sharpen your knowledge of managing and handling the overall security of your organization. The aim of this course is to make IT professionals proficient in information Security Management. It is one of the most prestigious globally recognized certifications with organizations offering high paying jobs to candidates who hold this credential.


Who can take this course


The CISM certification is aimed at information security managers, aspiring managers, or IT consultants who support the management of the InfoSec program. 

•    Senior system engineers
•    IT managers
•    Information security professionals
•    IT software system and application developers
•    IT auditors.
•    Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs)
•    Chief Compliance/Privacy/Risk Officers


What you will learn 


In this course, you will understand the importance of the Risk Management process along with how to develop and maintain an Information security program. You will understand how security strategies and controls are implemented. This course will enhance your skills to identify, analyze, manage, and respond to Incidents.

The exam covers four content areas:

•    Information security management
•    Information risk management and compliance
•    Information security program development and management
•    Information security incident management


Course prerequisites


The candidates must have five years of experience in the information security field.
Candidates have at least three years of information security management work experience in three or more areas of CISM content.
The required experience must be attained within the 10 years prior to the application date or within five years from the date, the examination is passed. 
The individuals must sustain an adequate level of knowledge and proficiency in information systems security management field, complete 20 continuing professional education (CPE) hours annually and follow ISACA's Code of Professional Ethics to maintain this CISM Certification.


The CISM is ranked as one of the sought after IT certifications with the highest pay scale and It is accredited under ISO / IEC 17024:2003 by ANSI. The CISM certification is designed for information security professionals who manage, design, supervise, and assess the security of information about the company. 

1) Pass the Exam.
2) Adhere to the Code of Professional Ethics
3) Participate in the CPE (continuing professional education) Program.
4) Relevant work experience.
5) Submit CISM Application to ISACA.

For members: $575 (USD) 
For non-members: $760 (USD)

Both certifications verify an individual’s skills against a common body of knowledge and take a global approach to information security. A key difference between CISM and CISSP certifications is that the CISM focuses more on management and strategy, and only covers technical topics in a cursory way, while the CISSP addresses the tactical aspects of security operations. Professionals whose goal is to progress to a management level in IT security will find more value in CISM than those who want to stay in a tactical role.